Registration standards

What are registration standards?

Under the National Law, practitioners must meet nationally consistent registration standards and be adequately qualified to be able to practise. Each National Board has registration standards, including the following five mandatory standards (which are common across all the nationally registered professions):

  • continuing professional development
  • criminal history
  • English language skills
  • professional indemnity insurance
  • recency of practice

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Board has another registration standard – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander. Only people who meet this registration are eligible to apply for registration as an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander.

Page reviewed 2/04/2020